endlessFrank Ocean, arguably one of the most mysterious and intriguing artists of our generation took us all by surprise yesterday when he dropped his latest project, a visual album titled Endless. The 45 minute black and white video is shot in a warehouse which has been previously live streamed on Frank’s website. The video shows a slow and meticulous process of constructing what I presume to be a staircase. The artists works solo but is shown as three versions of himself creating the end result. Which begs the question, what is the meaning? My interpretation of this video is that Frank is wanting to show the audience the amount of work that goes into a project, the amount of detail that art requires. People don’t often understand as we only see the end result. Which can be directly related to his music, Frank has been under some heat for the last year (at least) constantly hinting at new music but never releasing until yesterday.

It has been confirmed that Endless will be a completely separate project from Frank Ocean’s album that was due out in July which was to be titled Boys Don’t Cry. The title of the album has been changed again, not yet announced. However at the credits that conclude Endless there is a graphic design that has the word”Blonde” above the former title Boys Don’t Cry. Another hint from Frank Ocean? Who knows with this guy. But in the meantime, watch the video, and fall in love again with Frank Ocean.

Watch it here : https://itunes.apple.com/us/music-video/endless/id1143705097

Frank Ocean – Endless (Tracklist)

1. Device Control (written by Wolfgang Tillmans)
2. At Your Best (You Are Love) (The Isley Brothers Cover)
3. Alabama
4. Mine
5. U-N-I-T-Y
6. Ambience 001: “In a Certain Way”
7. Commes Des Garcons
8. Ambience 002: “Honeybaby”
9. Wither
10. Hublots
11. In Here Somewhere
12. Slide on Me
13. Sideways
14. Florida
15. Deathwish (ASR)
16. Rushes
17. Rushes T
18. Higgs